– Depictions of Place…

Corridor…

Bicycles…

Library… dissertation  folder which reminds me of the Xbox games console…

West Street…

Fish & chips at the Chinese…

Extension cables…

Industrial Piping…

Portrait of…

Giant steel box…

Flesh of the pipe…

Street life…

Street gates…

An intro into a non-digital photography project titled; ‘Depictions of Place.’ We were expected to visit different areas within Farnham and its outskirts using an SLR camera – strictly no digital! Executed through a minimum of 10 exposures either in black & white or color. Conveniently, 5 years ago, I was given a Pentax Mz-30 35mm Film Camera with a Pentax 35-80mm Zoom Lens and I had never used it! It was in fact, probably one of the best decision I’ve ever made, regretting I disowned and neglected such an amazing camera! After 2 weeks of hardcore shooting, developing and processing, I became very familiar with the whole SLR experience and I loved it! I was also unfamiliar with the town, so it became a very enjoyable experience with what I think was great success! Within the photography brief, there are four different approaches to go by, being; The Lone Outsider: ”Lone outsider at odd with the world.” The Insider: ”Inhabit the world they depict.’‘ The Activist: ”More overt in their ways… often political.” and The Fine Artist: ”Photographs things as they are”…”World being the raw material.” I managed to fall under all of them and I wanted to keep it broad but within guidelines, so I focused on Society, Architecture, Industrial Elements and the Countryside within Farnham. I discovered, the further my search was, the more successful I became at revealing what a well and truly lovely place Farnham really was – and my idea fed on that alone!

Leave a Reply

